June 2016 Portfolio Update

Current Portfolio Size: $15,915.42

Current Projected Dividend yield:  2.67%

Screen Shot 2016-06-02 at 1.08.48 AM.png
Purchases made during Jun
  1. Nil
Divestment during Jun
  1. Nil
Dividends collected during Jun
  1. UOL; $0.15 per share for 300 shares

Total Dividends Collected: $45.00

Dull month ‘cos did not have time to review my portfolio. I will start my quarterly review soon this month! Something exciting that happened during this month was that one of the stock that I’m holding on; Chemical Industries (Far East) Ltd (SGX:C05) went up to a peak price of $0.805, representing a 51% unrealized gain. However, the price suddenly went back down to $0.725 in a day – reducing it to a 28% unrealized gain. Currently this is the stock that accounts for the highest upside gain in my portfolio.

That brings me to my next point, having using the CNAV strategy – limiting downside risk and letting upside gain run – I have come to realise that all it takes to get a annual 8% increase in your entire portfolio is to have a few champion shares that have high % gains. This evens out the losses that other shares have, or if you breakeven for the other stocks, you can also recognise a gain!

This is also very risky because if there are no “champion” shares in your entire portfolio, the unrealized losses can look very painful.

Sticking to an investment strategy really depends on your own personality. For the past 6 months, I feel that I am the kind of person who do not wish to actively trade every single day because either I do not have the time, or I let my emotions run free and am less logical. Currently, this value investing strategy worked well for me and suits me, but i’m looking at ways to improve my gains and minimise my losses. Am really excited to see what July has for me 🙂

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

